top of page

What are Chakras?

Welcome to the series where I will cover the Chakra system. Each day I will do an individual post on each of the main 7 primary Chakra’s.

We will start by understanding Chakras a bit better.

According to many eastern cultures, we have a life force energy (chi, prana or qi) running through us and everything in the world.

The word Chakra is derived from the Sanskrit word for wheel; literally translated from the Hindi it means wheel of spinning energy. A chakra is actually a spinning ball of energy, acting as junction points for the nadis, the breath channels or lines of energy radiating out of all areas of our body. Chakras belong to the realm of subtle energy, at the crossroads of the material and the immaterial, the biological and the spiritual and relate to the body, mind and spirit as one.

The modern theory of chakras that became popular in the West was introduced in 1918, primarily through the translation of two Indian texts: the Sat-Cakra-Nirupana and the Padaka-Pancaka by Sir John Woodroffe (alias Arthur Avalon) In a book entitled The Serpent Power. these ideas were later developed by the theosophist C.W. Leadbeater in his book The Chakras.

It is believed that there are many chakras, but there are seven that are considered to be the most important. Each one, although not a physical entity, is said to be perpetually in motion and possessing its own colour and vibrational frequency. My formal training states that energy spinning clockwise is balanced, counter clockwise depleted and still, stagnant.

Chakras cannot be felt or touched by many people, but they can certainly be sensed. The location of each one varies slightly depending on the school of thought but are often portrayed in a line, running up the spine, from the root chakra at the base of the spine, up to the crown chakra at the top of the head. We can compare them to invisible, rechargeable batteries, charged and recharge through contact with a constant stream of energy in the atmosphere and because everything is moving, it is essential that our seven main chakras stay balanced (spinning clockwise), aligned, and as fluid as when they are balanced, they feed our physical body, as well as our aura.

The Lower Three Chakras

The Root, Sacral and Solar Plexus are considered our physical chakras and connect through the heart to the upper three, which are regarded as our spiritual centres. The physical chakras are said to be responsible for our self image, our physical and emotional identity.

Root or Base Chakra: Muladhara

This is the Chakra that connects us to our physical world. Located at the base of the spine, it governs our physical energies, giving us a sense of safety and security with other people and even ourselves. It is responsible for our fight or flight response when survival is under threat, governing instinct, security and survival, that is our need for food, shelter and safety.

Physically it governs vitality; mentally it governs stability; emotionally, it governs sexuality; spiritually, it governs the sense of security. The root chakra is also connected to the sense of smell.

Sacral: Svadhisthana

Located on the lower abdomen, about two inches below the navel and two inches in, the sacral rules physical manifestation and is the seat of our creativity. The sacral determines how we see ourselves in the physical world, allowing us to experience our true desires, governing our self worth and our relationships with others. Within the body, it governs the hips, inner thighs and reproductive organs, together with the urinary and circulatory systems, it rules our desires, emotions, sexuality and the need to create, whether it's having children or painting a picture. Physically, it governs reproduction; mentally, it governs creativity; emotionally, it governs joy; Spiritually, it governs enthusiasm.

Solar Plexus Chakra: Manipura

The solar plexus is located just above the navel and below the rib cage. It is our energy centre and radiates life energy (prana) throughout our entire body. It governs our willpower, the ability to achieve, our self esteem, raw emotions and self discipline and is related to our metabolic and digestive systems. Key issues governed by the solar plexus are issues of personal power, fear, anxiety, opinion formation and introversion. Physically, it governs digestion; mentally, it governs personal power; emotionally, it governs expansiveness; spiritually, it governs all matters of growth.

The Heart Chakra

Heart Chakra: Anahata

The heart centre is in the middle, over the heart, uniting the lower chakras matter and the upper chakras of spirit, serving as a bridge between our body, mind, emotions, and spirit.

The heart chakra is related to the thymus and the immune system. Key issues involving the heart chakra, involve complex emotions, compassion, tenderness, unconditional love, equilibrium, rejection and well being. Physically, Anahata governs circulation; emotionally it governs unconditional love for the self and others; mentally, it governs passion; spiritually, it governs devotion.

The Upper Three Chakras

The higher chakras contain your life purpose. When you begin to reach the higher spiritual chakras, you were able to get in touch with your higher self.

Throat Chakra: Visuddha

The throat chakra is associated with communication and growth through expression. It is also associated with the thyroid, the gland that is responsible for growth and maturation. Physically, the throat chakra governs communication; Emotionally, it governs independence; mentally, it governs fluent thought; spiritually, it governs a sense of security.

Third Eye Chakra: Ajna

The third eye is associated with the pineal gland, which produces the hormone melatonin regulating sleep. Its key issues involve balancing the higher and lower selves and trusting inner guidance. The third eye chakra relates to intuition, imagination and wisdom. Mentally, Ajna deals with visual consciousness. Emotionally, Ajna deals with clarity on an intuitive level.

Crown Chakra: Sahasrara

Located at the top of our head, the crown is our connection to the divine and our ability to be fully connected spiritually. It connects the physical and nonphysical realms of our existence and gives access to what is beyond our personal preoccupations and visions. It governs the release of karma, physical action with meditation, mental action with universal consciousness and unity, and emotional action with being-ness.

4 views0 comments


bottom of page